Christmas Traditions

Hello lovely readers!!

Once December comes around that means Christmas time. An with Christmas comes traditions. Each year since I can remember my family and I would do all of these things. But things have changed since then since were older.

untitled-4

Every year on December 1st I would get so excited because that meant 25 days of Christmas on ABC Family. Like a week or so before they would release the schedule and as soon as it was out I was writing it down. If their was a certain movie that I loved watching and wanted to see I would circle or highlight it so I knew. And even if I watched it already I would watch it again. Now that I don’t have cable I can’t watch it, but most of the movies I watched I have bought and can watch whenever I want.

With Christmas comes lights. Each year around Thanksgiving the zoo close to me decorates almost all the trees in the zoo and sets up a whole light show in the pond in the center of the zoo. Almost each year I have gone with friends and we would get many pictures. Now I go with Bradley and sometimes other friends. I love seeing all the lights and its so pretty.

Every year since I can remember my sister and I would get to open one gift on Christmas Eve and every year it would be a pair of new PJ’s. We would get a new pair each year to wear  to bed that night so when we came down on Christmas morning we would look nice. As we got older my mom has kept that tradition and look forward to it each year. Starting about 5 years ago or so after putting on our new PJ’s, my mom, sister, Bradley, a guy Emily was dating and I would get in the car and go downtown and look at all the lights.

When I was younger we would go to church but instead of just sitting through the service my sister and I would participate in the Christmas pageant. Then for a while we went to the midnight service, but now we go to the 1 o clock service in the chapel.

Ever since I started dating Bradley we have gone over to his house on Christmas Eve and celebrate Christmas with his parent, uncle and grandma. We eat dinner and then exchange gifts with everyone. Since we celebrate with my mom in the morning and both his sides on Christmas, Christmas Eve was the best time. It’s always fun though because we go to church at 1 with my family. Then go to my grandma’s and have cookies and exchange gifts with her neighbor. And then at dinner time we go over and after we come back and open PJ’s and go look at lights.

I loved having traditions when I was younger and keeping them going now that I am older. Once Bradley and I get married and start a family I can’t wait to start our own traditions and keep some of the old traditions as well. I hope you enjoyed this post and share your own Christmas traditions if you would like. And look for another post coming soon.

for-blog_fotor

 

Leave a Reply

