I GOT ENGAGED!

Hello lovely readers,

Sorry for the delay in putting up my travel diary. I have been home for a week and even though I am still on summer break I have been busy helping my mom take care of my grandma. Also I have been on Pinterest like 24/7 looking for ideas for decor and stuff for my wedding. Yes! I got engaged as you can tell by the title. He proposed July 3, while in Michigan.

Like 3 weeks ago I had mentioned to my boyfriend that my mom could put him on our phone plan but only once we were engaged. He then proceeds to say that he shouldn’t say anything but he was thinking of  maybe proposing while at the lake. And he had it all planned out too. We had our own little private dock at the little cottage we were staying at and that’s where he wanted to do it. He was also going to have the ring hidden in a game boy where the batteries go so I wouldn’t find it.  When he said that my mind was going in over drive of thinking really? Will he do it? Did he have a ring yet?  I would be so excited and I felt that we were ready to take that next step. We have been together for almost 3 and a 1/2 years, and we have been living with each other for a year already. I didn’t want to ask if he really was and ruin the surprise but I had to know. But the week before we left for the lake I kept sending him pictures of a certain ring that I loved and where he could find it and the hours of the store. As well as remind him how many more days he had to get a ring. Even if he didn’t propose at the lake, he knew what ring I liked. Yes it would have been disappointing if he didn’t propose, but our time would eventually come.

The first day we got there it was pretty late so I figured he wouldn’t propose that first night we were their if he actually had a ring. The next day he Kayaked and spent time in the water. Around 4 or so that day we decided we were going to go back and get showered and cleaned up before dinner because we were both sweaty from being outside all day. So we went back and showered and everything and headed back to my family’s house. While dinner was being prepared Bradley and I were out sitting on the back porch with my mom and some of my other family members and I was getting cold. My mom told me to go out on the dock because it was warmer out their. I did not want to do that, I kept saying it wouldn’t be much warmer, I was just going to go get a sweatshirt. But she just kept telling me to go down their and Bradley said let’s go down their. So we walked down to the dock and it was not that much warmer btw. When we got down their though I was just standing their to trying to warm up and Bradley was behind me with his arms around my shoulders. Then he said I have a surprise for you. I turn around and he is getting down on one knee, with a ring in his hand and said “Will you marry me?” When I saw him on one knee I said, “Bradley stop.” I had wanted this so bad, but it got me off guard when he actually proposed though. But of course I said yes and during the whole thing, my family was up on the porch watching and recording it.

IMG_2203

IMG_2228

This is from today but my ring made my fingers look fat when I first got it because it was too small. I’ll insert a picture though somewhere.

IMG_2147

After dinner and all the excitement of telling his family and calling my grandma they had a toast for us with Blackberry wine (and I hate wine, but it was very good) and wine glasses with all the Michigan Lakes on them. So now we will have them to remind us of where we got engaged.

Later on that night Bradley my boyfriend  fiancé told me all about getting the ring and how nervous he was about me finding it in the house. He had bought it on Monday night after work, but instead of keeping it at our house he kept it at his parents. Also on the day he proposed he had my sister drive over to our little cottage we were staying at and pick it up and had her leave it in the bathroom. Right before he proposed he pretended to go to the bathroom, but got the ring and put it in his pocket. He is so adorable and I love him so much.

Everyone is so excited, as well as myself. As I mentioned earlier in the post I have been on Pinterest 24/7 pinning decor ideas and picture ideas for the actual day and our engagement pictures which we plan to have in September. While on vacation we picked our date and we are doing July 17, 2017 (7-17-17). Along with our date we have chosen the colors yellow and gray as our main colors, with accents of pink. On Sunday we also went and looked at venue possibilities and found one that we both love. So this Friday my mom and I are going to go and talk more to the special events coordinator at the venue and sign a contact to set our date in stone. (We didn’t actually sign the contract though on Friday. When I called I said I wanted to come in and talk about having a wedding there, so we set up a meeting and I thought we would sign a contract that day. But I was not specific enough and he had another couple coming as well at the same time to show them around as well. But we set up another meeting with him for Monday to actually sign the contact. We finally signed the contract though, which is very exciting. I will leave pictures below of what the venue looks like) I am in love with the venue and can not wait to be able to start planning where things will go and getting things figured out. I also can’t wait to be Mrs. Cantrell and spend my life with him making new memories as husband and wife.

And don’t worry I will bring you along on the journey and be sharing things we have picked and everything to do with our wedding. I hope you enjoyed and look out for the travel diary of the actual trip coming tomorrow or by the end of the week.

img_0014-1

 

IMG_2280

This is where we will get married under the pergola and chairs will be set up on the side of the walk way.

IMG_2281

If you looked straight out from the pergola this is at the other end. We are thinking of filling the fountain with ice and then putting wine and beer in the tiers and then a table for other stuff in front for the bar area.

IMG_2283

This is the patio where we will have all the tables for the reception

IMG_2285

And this is the room where we will have the food and deserts. And then when dinner is over we will move stuff aside and we will have room to dance.

One thought on “I GOT ENGAGED!

Leave a Reply

