Dream Job

Hello lovely readers, I’m back! I had a nice little workout. I rode the bike for about 20 minutes while watching Bates Motel on Netflix. Now back to writing and watching Bates Motel still. This post was supposed to be from Friday and it is going to be about my dream job.

Ever since I can remember I have wanted to be a teacher. I don’t know if it was because of one of my elementary teachers, or because I would always go to school with my mom when I didn’t have school. Also while growing up I would always play pretend school with my sister and friends. In 7th and 8th grade when we were thinking what we wanted to do when we grew up, guess what I put still? Yep, I wanted to be a teacher still. Even though I grew up being as shy as could be, I wanted to grow up and teach. By senior year I knew I still wanted to teach. So for credits I enrolled in Teacher Academy and learned all about the Praxis, history, how to write lesson plans and so much more. I also got to student teach in our elementary schools. We had to do a young placement (K-2), a special education placement or middle school placement and 3-5 placement. For my placements I student taught in a 2nd grade classroom, a 5th grade classroom and a special education classroom of 3rd and 4th graders. I loved all my placements I loved the younger children the most. College rolled around and I was going to major in Early Childhood Development. I had most of my pre req classes done, and was starting the classes for my major. But halfway into my sophomore year I got lazy and flunked out. I moved home and came to a community college close to home. Since I had basically all my pre req classes done, I only had to do a few more here that they needed and was on to my major classes. But again I was getting lazy, cared more about my boyfriend and was working as well and started failing classes. I then just stopped going and never finished my degree even though I was about 3 classes away from completing my major. Yes I could go back, but with working full-time during the year, and seeing that my classes are student teaching, I would have to take a class each summer to finish. I could do it if I really wanted. Someday maybe I will become a teacher, but being a special education attendant is good for now and I’m still in a school setting and getting to teach a little. If I want more money though I need to finish my degree or become a Special Education Assistant.

silver+glitter

Leave a Reply

